En Strålande Utsikt

-för en 'bättre värld'

I’m a bookaholic

(For the Swedish version, see below the English one)

There is a certain charm in reading. To remain in the bookshop for 45 minutes because you have to choose the perfect work – the book’s covers do matter – or surfing on the internet for an hour to gather a load of book that one would not have found in the largest of bookshops. To have bought too many books and having to plan which one to go through first, or which ones to read simultaneously depending on whether they are biographies that work well beside playful classics, or beside analysing non-fictions that perhaps should be alternated with a slower fictional novel. After having decided, sitting there with one’s cup of tea, blanket, and reading lamp, that special cosiness feeling that nothing can beat resides, that cosiness that you long for and pictures when you imagine yourself to be reading.

Or, to be completely honest, it probably is not the reading futeuil that I picture when I write about reading. By some strange sense, I like it the very most to read in coffee shops – in the midst of people, with a cup of too expensive coffee beside the book on that small and somewhat uncomfortable coffee table, and sometimes I need a bit of extra stress and rush around me to force myself to focus on what I read, not that I do not want to read, but because, to be quite honest, it is quite hard to keep concentrated throughout a whole book. However, at the same time it feels so good to show people how intellectual and cultivated I want to be, than sitting home alone and just showing myself how smart I am… Oh, alas, what superficiency, one might say, but frankly I am quite proud to be a book nerd and I love showing it in public! Don’t be ashamed of being bookaholics, people!

Because it is an addiction! My addiction was spurred during my high school years at the International Baccelaureate diploma programme, where we analysed some of the bigger classics of world literature. It was there that I learnt to read novels at several strata and appreciate stylistic features and methods. I promised myself to read books after high school that I would choose myself, because I imagined myself having the time, motivation and possibilities to read all the books in the world by then. From now on, I will, to the extent that I have the inspiration for it, post and write about all that I read, as an inspiration for some of you and as repetition of the novels for myself

***

Det är någonting visst med att läsa. Att stå 45 minuter i bokaffären för att välja ut det perfekta verket – bokens pärmar spelar faktiskt roll – eller surfa runt en timme på nätet för att samla ihop ett gäng med olika böcker som man inte hade hittat ens i den största bokaffär. Att ha förköpt sig och måste planera vilken bok som ska avverkas först, eller vilka verk man kan läsa samtidigt beroende på om de är biografier som går bra ihop med lekfulla klassiker eller analyserande faktaböcker som kanske bör varvas med ett långsammare skönlitterärt verk. Efter man har bestämt sig, och väl sitter där med sin tekopp, filt och läselampa, infinner sig dock den där mysekänslan som inget slår, som man längtat efter och som alla nog ser framför sig när de föreställer sig att läsa.

Eller, om jag ska vara helt ärlig så är det kanske inte direkt läsefåtöljen jag ser framför mig när jag skriver om att läsa. Av någon anledning gillar jag allra mest att läsa på fik – mitt bland folk, med lite halvdyrt fika bredvid boken där på det lilla och något obekväma bordet och ibland kanske jag behöver extra stress och rusch runt omkring för att tvinga mig själv att fokusera på det jag läser, inte för att jag inte vill läsa, men för att, om vi ska vara helt ärliga, det är svårt att hålla samma koncentration genom ett helt verk. Samtidigt känns det också så mycket bättre att visa folk hur intellektuell och bildad jag vill vara publikt än att sitta hemma och bara låta mig själv förstå hur smart jag är… Så oerhört ytligt, kan tyckas, men ärligt talat är jag faktiskt lite stolt över att vara en boknörd så jag visar gärna upp det! Skäms inte för att vara bookaholics, people!

För det är ett beroende! Mitt beroende kom till under mina gymnasieår på International Baccalaureate-programmet, där vi analyserande några av världslitteraturens största klassiker. Det var där jag lärde mig att läsa verk på flera plan och uppskatta stilistiska metoder och verktyg. Jag lovade mig själv att läsa böcker som jag valt själv efter skoltiden, när jag trodde mig ha tid, motivation och möjligheter att läsa all världens verk. Från och med nu tänkte jag, till den grad jag är inspirerad, lägga upp och skriva om det jag läser, som inspiration för vissa och som repetition för mig själv.

Information

This entry was posted on 5 juli, 2012 by in Litteratur/Literature.

Goodreads

Läsarmätare

  • 19,946

Följ mig på Twitter!

