En Strålande Utsikt

-för en 'bättre värld'

The world is one big freaking contrast

Shh…
Quiet streets filled with hope, nervous expectation, and cool anxiety – Sweden’s schools are opening today after 10 weeks of summer holiday.
Boom
Reading Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s fantastic novel Half of a Yellow Sun that deals with the tragic Nigerian civil war more known as the Biafran War (1967-1970): ”stream of refugees”, fleeing the Nigerian federal troops’ invasion of the newly declared independent state of Biafra.
Boom
A quiet café, people in harmony, low chatting, loving smiles, and over-expensive breakfast.
Boom
Médecins Sans Frontières announce they are running Hospitals incognito around Syria. Video photages now bear a atronger meaning as I trust the MSF staff’s témoignage as impartial and relatively objective.
Boom
My greatest concern: a Physics test tomorrow, in a course I get paid (!) studying and which opens up the country’s medical programs to me.
***
I wish I knew a quote to cite my feelings as I witness one man’s everyday life swing by as a mere whisper in the wind compared to the bombings and loud death of that man’s correspondant in a different location, in a different time; of a different fate.
Yours sincerely,
Drevinho

Information

This entry was posted on 22 augusti, 2012 by in Internationellt/Internationally, Litteratur/Literature and tagged .

Goodreads

Läsarmätare

  • 19,946

Följ mig på Twitter!

