En Strålande Utsikt

-för en 'bättre värld'

Five new books ordered! Theme: Doctors Without Borders

I had to order a new Physics course book for the second Physics course I am taking in two weeks’ time (Physics 1 and Physics 2 are required to apply to medical school in Sweden – ironically I got to three interviews in London and Oxford without Physics at all…), and when I was at the online shop I could as well…

I actually had a theme this time, apart from one classic novel (Fahrenheit 451) I chose books related to the practice of Medicine or the organisation (my favourite one) Médecins Sans Frontières, Doctors Without Borders, you see (in Swedish).

The five books apart from Heureka! (the Physics book) are:

  • Fahrenheit 451 (1953), Ray Bradbury: a classic!

 

  • Hope in HelI (2004), Dan Bortolotti: I just love Doctors Without Borders, and this book (which I first discovered in the shop at the Nobel Peace Centre in Oslo, Norway) presents their work in an inspiring fashion, I would imagine.

 

  • Medical Ethics (2004), R. A. Hope: a good pre-Med School read giving a very short introduction on difficult ethical questions related to Medicine.

  • One World (2009), several authors: an anthology, from the publishers at The New Internationalist, of short stories from authors (including Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie) originating from all over the world! All authors’ royalties go to Doctors Without Borders!

 

  • Trailing: a Memoir (2012), Kristin Louise Duncombe: about being married to a doctor working for Doctor Without Borders.

About £80 poorer, but soon indispensably more knowledgeable!

Goodreads

Läsarmätare

  • 19,755

Följ mig på Twitter!

