En Strålande Utsikt

-för en 'bättre värld'

New series: mini doctor and tropical disease part 1/13

As you know, my plan is to become a doctor, and Médecins Sans Frontières has served as the major inspirational source to this dream. I have followed their work, and worked for them in Sweden a few months, for a while, and studied what they do and how the do it. However, the forgotten diseases that they fight on a daily basis, the general public has no idea of which they are. In this short series, I will unveil, insofar as I can describe and understand them, the main diseases that MSF fights.

This is just an introductory post, as a heads up. These are the diseases I will deal with (from this MSF source):

  • Chagas
  • Cholera
  • Fistula
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Kala Azar
  • Malaria
  • Malnutrition
  • Measles
  • Meningitis
  • Mental health
  • Sleeping sickness
  • Tuberculosis

I do not know how quickly I will be able, and have the power to, write about these factors of global health, but I will indeed try to finish this series within two months. So, keep checking this blog out, and I will try to do my best to give you a picture of what illness is out there, what sickness and suffering we in the West barely hear of.

One comment on “New series: mini doctor and tropical disease part 1/13

  1. Pingback: An excerpt from “Trailing: a memoir” « En Strålande Utsikt

Kommentarer inaktiverade.

