En Strålande Utsikt

-för en 'bättre värld'

Day 10: a book that changed my life

 

 

Part of the 30-day book challenge.

A book that changed my life? Easy.

Animal Farm (1943), George Orwell

The one novel that made an impression on me – perhaps the one novel that linked adolescent and grown-up literature for me (this one and JK Rowling’s Harry Potter books). It is the best novel I have read, as well. Its simple language and style presents Orwell’s views on totalitarian states, more specifically the Soviet Union, and does so wittingly by the use of animals – pigs. Perhaps ironic that he exposes the very nature of humanity by using animals…

***

Close calls:

The Hobbit (JRR Tolkien)

Harry Potter series

Nineteen Eighty-Four (Orwell)

The Catcher in the Rye (JD Salinger)

 

Goodreads

Läsarmätare

  • 19,755

Följ mig på Twitter!

