En Strålande Utsikt

-för en 'bättre värld'

FINALLY MEDICAL SCHOOL!!!

Today marked the one-week anniversary (week-ersary?) of my admission to medical school! On Wednesday 12/12-2012, I got the admission results – and I had been accepted to the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm!!! I became even happier to see that it was not just any university that accepted my application, but the Nobel Prize-awarding Karolinska Institute! The finest university in Sweden and perhaps one of the best in the world!

Those of you that have my Facebook know how much I have fought for this and how obsessed I have been (and am) with issues surrounding physiology and international human rights, both according to me forming the ground pillar of a career and life in medicine. I will divide this post into three thematic… nay, geographical sections: 1. England, 2. Africa 3. Sweden. I will post one section at the time, because I guess they will become long posts. Also, this will probably mean I might become a bit more personal in my writing (because now I will actually do more interesting things; university!).

I have great hopes for the future and I know that the Karolinska Institute is indeed respected internationally, perhaps primarily due to that it awards the Nobel Prize in Medicine or Physiology each year. And, since I have international goals with my studies and life, that spoke to me when I applied. It was founded in 1811 with the aim of educating more war surgeons for Sweden’s at the time numerous wars, especially with Russia to whom Sweden lost Finland. In order to fight back Russia, Karl XIII founded the Medico-Chirugiska Institutet, which later developed into what we today call the Karolinska Institute (Swedish soldiers at the time were known as ”karoliner”, probably because our kings in those years often were named ”Karl”, ”Charles” in English). I myself aim to work abroad in low-income countries in the future, and hence I romanticise a bit about the fact that I might work abroad in war-areas and come from a university whose sole aim was to have doctors train for just that, war. I do hate war and violence, but to possibly have get the skills to aid people suffering from war would be a privilege.

The inventor of dynamite, Alfred Nobel, wrote in his testament that his money would form a fund to reward human progress. In his will, he gave the Karolinska Institute the honour to award this prize in the field of medicine, and today, we each year eagerly await the Nobel Committee at the Karolinska to decide the recipient of the Nobel Prize laureate in Medicine or Physiology. This prize makes the university shine stronger and, first and foremost, what results is that everybody in the medical field around the world know of the Karolinska Institute – that, in my eyes, opens international opportunities almost as much as getting admitted to Oxford (but only almost).

The Nobel ceremony in Stockholm.

(Un)fortunately, the program at the Karolinska is the toughest medical one in Sweden because of its inclination toward research. Karolinska holds about 40% of all medical research in Sweden, and hence it focuses its medical program around learning biological chemistry in detail. A high drop-out rate follows; I would love that challenge.

Well, I suppose I will round off here. I will posts three more texts on my medical school admission in the days to follow, so keep watch for them.

//Gustaf

Information

This entry was posted on 19 december, 2012 by in T1 Karolinska Institute and tagged , , , , , , , .

Goodreads

Läsarmätare

  • 19,790

Följ mig på Twitter!

